Sibfords Society

The Sibfords Society began in 1993 and meetings are held nine times each year. These include external visits during the summer, and talks of historical interest which are held in the Village Hall. We concentrate mainly on the local area but are occasionally happy to invite speakers from further afield. We have an archive room where we preserve evidence for future generations.

Membership is £10 per annum and free to school children. Free tea, coffee and biscuits are served at all the meetings.

For further information, please contact Diana on 780 506 or Bryan on 780 248.

Meetings are at 8pm unless stated otherwise in the programme below. Visitors are always welcome at a cost of £2 if they don't join the Society.

Thu 17 March 2016AGM and talk by Mike Harper-Tarr on Bus tickets over the years
Thu 21 April 2016Ox and Bucks on the Somme – Stephen Barker
Thu 19 May 2016Chris Mason with the second part of his Swift Stories
Thu 23 June 2016Oxford walk with Mark Davies (Daytime)
Thu 21 July 2016Evening visit to Hook Norton Brewery
Thu 15 September 2016Dr Gillian White on Robert Dudley, Queen Elizabeth and the Kenilworth Entertainment
Thu 20 October 2016Jane Rowe on The History of Sudeley Castle
Thu 17 November 2016The Water Gypsy – how a Thames fisher girl became a viscountess - talk and book signing by Julie Ann Godson
Thu 16 February 2017Social
Thu 16 March 2017AGM and talk by Celia Boyd on her novels depicting life in the English Civil War.