Sibford Gower (with Burdrop) Parish Council

The Parish Council Meeting arranged for Monday, 11th September had to be cancelled at short notice and sincere apologies are extended to those local residents who called at the Primary School to take part. The date of the next Meeting is Monday, 9th October to take place in the Staff Room of the Primary School starting at 8pm.

The new date is shown in the Calendar of Events section of the October edition of the Sibford Scene.

Sibford Gower Parish Council consists of five members elected by the community every four years, with power to fill vacancies by co-opting. Parish Councillors are unpaid and are elected as individuals, not on party lines. We appoint a Parish Clerk who is also our Responsible Finance Officer and administers the council's business. The Council decides on the annual financial precept, which residents pay as part of their Council Tax, and which is used for items of public expenditure in the village. Meetings are public and held every two months in the evening in the Primary School; they are advertised on the village notice board and in the Sibford Scene, as well as on the website. A number of local residents regularly attend, and there is a special slot for them to express their views and raise questions. Our local District and County Councillor also normally comes, and keeps us in touch with wider local government issues.

There is also an Annual Parish Meeting once a year, which attracts a large number of residents; it is attended by representatives of Cherwell and Oxfordshire Councils, the police and other services, and is a good place to air public concerns.

The current members of the Parish Council are: Peter Abbott (Vice-Chairman), Susan Bannister, Oswyn Murray (Chairman), Alan Parkin, Gilian Soden and the Clerk and the Responsible Finance Officer is Peter Hardman - 01295 780391 or email

Sibford Gower Annual Parish Meeting took place on 10th April 2017.  The report of the 2017 APM can be viewed by clicking the relevant link below.

Sibford Gower Annual Parish Council Meeting took place on 8th May 2017.  The report of the 2017 APCM can be viewed by clicking the relevant link below.

Click here to read the report of the parish council meeting of 20th February 2017.

The Annual Parish Meeting was held on Monday 10th April 2017 in the Sibford Village Hall (see the link to the minutes below).

Prior to the above-mentioned Annual Parish Meeting there was a meeting of the Planning Council Committee  with regard to planning applications received since the previous Parish Council Meeting on 20th February 2017.

The next Parish Council Meeting will be on Monday 9th October 2017 in Sibford Gower Endowed Primary School Staff Room starting at 8pm. 

Residents are invited to attend and, if they wish, raise any matters of local interest.

After the formal meeting there will be an opportunity for public discussion.

Planning Applications

No. 17/01866/LB  Westside Cottage, Burdrop OX15 5RJDr Philippa Martindale
Replacement windows and replacement front door and frame and repointing exterior walls.
Observations to reach Cherwell District Council by Friday 6 October 2017. 
No. 17/01737/F  OS Parcel 4702, South West of Tyne Hill Farm, Hawkes Lane, Sibford GowerLisa Hannam
Change of use from agricultural to dog day care. No dogs are kept on site overnight. Small extension to current building to allow for indoor kennels and exercise area.
Observations to reach Cherwell District Council by Monday 9 October 2017. 

Click here to go to the Cherwell District Council Planning Application Searchpage.